Finalists for 2023 B&LNZ awards

Beef+Lamb New Zealand has announced the finalists for its 2023 awards.

In Livestock2 Minutes

The finalists in the 2023 Beef + Lamb New Zealand Awards have been announced after what was described as a robust judging process.

Beef + Lamb New Zealand’s CEO Sam McIvor, says the high calibre of entries meant the judging team had a difficult task to select the finalists in the eight award categories.

“The judges commented about the quality of the entries which reflected the depth of talent, skills and knowledge within our red meat sector.”

It has been a challenging year for many in the rural sector, so it was particularly important to recognise and celebrate the outstanding people, innovations and technologies within this country’s sheep and beef industry, he says.

The winners will be announced at the awards dinner at Christchurch’s Te Pae Convention Centre on October 19.

McIvor says his organisation, along with awards partner Farmlands, hope anyone with an interest in food production will join the finalists and sponsors to celebrate excellence in the red meat industry. Tickets are available through the B+LNZ website.

The finalists

Ballance Agri-Nutrients Science and Research Award

AgResearch Life Cycle Assessment Team (Ruakura)

Forage Trials Willesden (Lincoln)

Low Methane Sheep Genetics Programme (AgResearch Dunedin)

Datamars Livestock Technology Award

Bidr Ltd (Hamilton)

Cloud Yards Ltd (Hastings)

Silver Fern Farms/Lynker Net Carbon Zero Mapping Tool (Dunedin)

Gallagher Innovative Farming Award

Reata Ltd (Masterton)

Repost Ltd (Nelson)

Wharetoa Genetics (Balclutha)

Silver Fern Farms Market Leader Award

Ongaha (Featherston)

Pearl Veal (Christchurch)

Verry Farming (Te Kuiti)

AgResearch Emerging Achiever Award

Amy Hoogenboom (Oxford)

James Robbie (Eketahuna)

Harriet Watson (Christchurch)

Rabobank People Development Award

Growing Future Farmers (Napier)

New Zealand Rural Leadership Trust (Lincoln)

Whangarei Agricultural and Pastoral Society Farm Intern Programme (Whangarei)

FMG Rural Champion Award

Surfing for Farmers (Gisborne)

Shepherdess (Levin)

Greater Dipton Catchment Group (Dipton)

Alliance Significant Contribution Award

Bob Cottrell (Taupo)

Mike Petersen (Waipukurau)

Tom Fraser (Christchurch)